GRDS 702: Unit 3, Blog 1 – Thinking Wrong

Letting go of bias is hard. Admitting you are wrong is even harder. Stefan Sagmeister even placed it on the his list of “Things I have learned in my life so far” – Everybody thinks they are right. When I made my initial list for Exploration A I did not break my biases which cause me to have a shorter, less developed list. Collaborating with a partner opened my mind to other directions and lead to many more word explorations.

From this project some far I have worked on keeping an open mind and accepting when I wrong. In design being wrong can not only impact the creator of the work, but more importantly the viewer. If I use the my bias to select design elements, I am not only wrong in my selection, but contributing to the spread of misrepresented information.

Leave a Reply

